Write a short note on five kingdom classification proposed by R.H. Whittaker

Write a short note on five kingdom classification proposed by R.H. Whittaker.

The five kingdom classification was proposed by R.H. Whittaker in 1969. The five kingdoms were formed on the basis of characteristics such as cell structure, mode of nutrition, source of nutrition and body organisation. It includes Kingdom Monera, Kingdom Protista, Kingdom Fungi, Kingdom Plantae, and Kingdom Animalia.

Kingdom Monera:
It includes prokaryotic cells lacking organized nucleus and membrane bound cell organelles.
Some of the Monerans are autotrophic andsome of them are heterotrophic forms.

Kingdom Protista:
Itincludes algae, diatoms and protozoans.
These are unicellular and the simplest form of eukaryotes exhibiting both autotrophic and heterotrophic mode of nutrition.

Kingdom Fungi:
Theseare multicellular, eukaryotic saprophytes.
They include mushrooms, rhizopus and mucor.
Some fungi are symbiotic forming an association with algal cells. These symbionts are termed to be lichens.

Kingdom Plantae:
Itincludes all the plants that are non-motile,multicellular and eukaryotic organisms with their cell walls made up of cellulose.

Kingdom Animalia:
Itincludes all the animals that are motile multicellular, eukaryotic organisms with their cells possessing no cell walls. It exhibits species diversity.