What is the basic nature of Indian federal system ? Or "Indian federal system is a quasi-federal". Examine the statement

“The power sharing” arrangements in our country is mainly based on the quasi federal nature of federation. The Indian constitution provided a “three fold distribution” of legislative powers between the union government and the state government known as ‘Three List System’.

  1. Union List
  2. State List
  3. Concurrent List
    (i) Union list—‘Union list’ contains 97 subjects of national importance.
    • The union legislature legislates the subjects of union list.
    • Defence,foreign affairs, banking, communications and currency are examples of the union list.
    (ii) **State list—**State list contains 66 subjects of local importance’.
    • The state legislature assembly legislates on the subjects of state legislature.
    • Police, trade, commerce, agriculture and irrigation.
    (iii) **Concurrent List—**Concurrent List contains 47 subjects which are important for both the union and state government.
    • On the concurrent list subject both union and the state legislature can legislate but in the case of conflict only union law prevails.
    • Subjects like, education, forests, trade unions, marriages, adoption and succession are the examples of concurrent list.