Give five features of the Ganga River System

Give five features of the Ganga River System.

The Ganga is one of the major Himalayan river which rises in the Western Himalayas in Uttarakhand and flows South and East through the Gangetic plain of North India.

The main five features of it are :

  1. The length of the Ganga is over 2500 km.

  2. The Ganga is joined by many tributaries from the Himalayas, like the Yamuna, the Ghaghara, the Gandak and the Kosi. The other main tributaries, come from the peninsular uplands are the . Chambal, the Betwa and the Son.

  3. The Ganga flows through North India and in West Bengal, at Farakka the river bifurcates, the Bhagirathi-Hooghly flows Southwards through the deltaic plains to the Bay of Bengal.

  4. The mainstream flows Southwards into Bangladesh and is joined by Brahmaputra and is known as the Meghna, later it is named as Padma.

  5. The Ganga-Brahmaputra delta is the world’s largest delta.

  6. This delta is among the most fertile regions in the world which is also most densely populated areas in the world (1300 inhabitants/sq km).