Explain different ranges in Himalayas

Explain different ranges in Himalayas.

Himadri :

a) The northern most range is known as the Greator Inner Himalayas or the Himadri.

b) It is the most continuous rangeconsisting of the loftiest peaks with an average height of 6000 metres including Mt. Everest.

c) The core of this part of the himalayas is composed of granite.

d) It is perennially snow bound.

Himachal :

a) The northern most range is known as Lesser or Middle Himalaya or the Himachal.

b) Altitude varies between 3700 to 4500m and average width is 50m.

c) The Pir Panjal range forms the longest and the most important range. The Dhaula Dhar and the Mahabharat ranges are also prominent ones.

d) The range consists of the famous valley of Kashmir, the Kangra and Kullu valley in Himachal Pradesh.

e) There are many famous hill stations in Shimla and Darjeeling in this region.

f) The ranges are mainly composed of highly compressed and altered rocks.


a) The outer most range is known as the Shiwalik.

b) Its width is of 10-50 km and has an altitude varying between 900 and 1000m.

c) These ranges are composed of loose river deposits brought down by rivers from the main Himalayan ranges located for north.

The longitudinal valley lying between lesser himalaya and shiwaliks are known as duns. Dehra Dun, Kotli Dun and Patli Dun are some of the well known duns.