Describe the three cropping seasons of India

Describe the three cropping seasons of India.

Rabi season:

  • Crops sown in winters and harvested in summers.
  • Some of the important rabi crops are wheat, barley, peas, gram and mustard.
  • States growing rabi crops are: Punjab, Haryana, Himachal, Jammu and Kashmir, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh.

Kharif season:

  • Crops grown with the onset of monsoons and harvested in September or October.
  • Important Kharif growing states are: Assam, West Bengal, coastal regions of Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Maharashtra.
  • Crops grown during this season are: rice, maize, jowar, bajra, tur, moong, urad, cotton, jute, groundnut and soyabean.

Zaid season:

  • It falls in between the rabi and kharif seasons.
  • It’s a short season during the summer months.
  • Major crops grown are: watermelon, muskmelon, cucumbers, vegetables and fodder crops.
1 Like