Explain the formation of the constituent assembly

explain the formation of the constituent assembly

The Constituent Assembly was formed in 1946. The idea of making the Constituent Assembly for framing the Constitution of India was devised by the Cabinet Mission Plan. The Constituent Assembly consisted of the elected representatives of varioius provinces who were eminent personalities in their own fields.
Some of the members were Dr. B.R Ambedkar, Dr. Rajendra Prasad, Sarojini Naidu and Nehru. The Constituent Assembly of India held several meetings, discussions, debates and passed varioius draft resolutions to frame the Constitution of the country. Our Constitution came into force on 26 Jan, 1950.